GCCCE 2017

Sub-conference C1: Science of Learning and Computer Supported Collaborative Learning

Sub-conference C1:
Science of Learning and Computer Supported Collaborative Learning

Rising from the reflection of cognitive science disciplines, research methods and ideas about learning method, the science of learning began to mature in the l990s and started to stand out as an independent discipline. It aims at carrying out cross-cutting empirical inquires of phenomenon of learning in authentic situations and understanding how learning happens with or without assistive technology. Meanwhile, the implement of computer supported collaborative learning emphasis on making full use of the affordances of technology and the research result of the science of learning to design more effective individual and collaborative learning environment. As the next step of research, by studying students’ learning in innovation environment integrated by science and technology to direct and optimize the previous design of learning environment, over and over again, helping each other forward.

This sub-conference involves a wide range of subject areas, such as cognitive science, educational psychology, computer science, anthropology, social sciences, information science, cognitive neuroscience, instructional design and so on. In this sub-conference, we hope to bring together Chinese scholars and practitioners in this area from all over the world to exchange their thoughts and contributions. 

The scope of papers will cover but not be limited to:

  1. Theories discussion of science of learning and computer supported collaborative learning.
  2. Activities design of learning science and computer supported collaborative learning.
  3. Instructional strategies and application of learning science and computer supported collaborative learning.
  4. Innovative practices of learning science and computer supported collaborative learning.
  5. Development of computer supported collaborative systems and tools.
  6. Evaluation of the effectiveness of computer supported collaborative learning.
  7. Obstacles and countermeasures of computer supported collaborative learning.
  8. The new learning model and new media literacy.

Note: we also welcome new topics besides the above-mentioned

Paper submission:

  1. Authors should prepare submissions either in English or in Chinese (Long paper: 8 pages; Short paper: 4 pages; Poster: 2 pages). Submissions written in Chinese should include the title, abstract and keywords written in both Chinese and English.
  2. Authors should submit papers in the Microsoft Word format. Please make use of the paper template provided on the conference website for preparing submissions.
  3. Authors should make submissions by uploading papers onto the Submission System of the conference. 

Important dates:

 (Please refer to the conference website for more details and news updates)


Executive Chair of the sub-conference

Wenli Chen, Nanyang Technological University 

Co-Chairs of the sub-conference(listed in alphabetic order of Surnames):

Chiu-Pin Lin, Hsinchu University of Education

Yi Zhang, entral China Normal University 

Sub-conference program committee members:(listed in alphabetic order of given names):

Changqin Huang

South China Normal University

Chih-Ming Chen

Chengchi University

Chiung-Hui Chiu

Taiwan Normal University

Chiu-Pin Lin

Hsinchu University of Education

Daner Sun

The Education University of Hong Kong

Ding Ming Wang

Tsing Hua University

Doris Choy

Nanyang Technological University

Eric Zhi-Feng Liu

Central University

Fei-Ching Chen

Central University

Gang Zhao

Central China Normal University

Hanbing Yan

East China Normal University

Hao-Chiang Koong Lin

University of Tainan

Heng Luo

Central China Normal University

Hong-Ren Chen

Taichung University of Education

HP Yueh

Taiwan University

Huangyao Hong

Chengchi University

Jeng-Yiiang Li

MingHsin University of Science and Technology

Jia-Jiunn Lo

Chung Hua University

Jianhua Zhao

South China Normal University

Jing Leng

East China Normal University

Jiong Guo

Northwest Normal University

Joyce Hwee Ling Koh

Nanyang Technological University

Li Guo

Jiangsu Second Normal University

Lin Chen

Jiangsu Normal University

Mingwen Tong

Central China Normal University

Mingzhuo Liu

East China Normal University

Min-Hsien Lee

Sun Yat-sen University

Mu-Chun Su

Central University

Ping Li

The Education University of Hong Kong

Qi Meng

Shanghai Normal University

Qing Li

Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications

Qinglong Zhan

Tianjin University of Technology and Education

Qiyun Wang

Nanyang Technological University

Shu-Chen Cheng

Southern Taiwan University of Science and Technology

Timothy Hew

Hong Kong University

Tongxiang Xie

Huaiyin Normal University

Tzy-Ling Chen

Chung Hsing University

Wan Ying Tay

Singapore Management University

Weijane LIN

Taiwan University

Wenli Chen

Nanyang Technological University

Xiaodong Xu

South China Normal University

Xiaopeng Ni

Cleveland State University

Xiuling Chen

The Taiwan University of Science and Technology

Yi Zhang

Central China Normal University

Yin Ou Yang

University of Tainan

Ying-Shao Hsu

Taiwan Normal University

Yongguang Huang

Yunlin University of Science and Technology

Yonghe Wu

East China Normal University

Yunwu Wang

Jiangsu Normal University

Yuqing Guo

Zhejiang University

Important Dates

Paper submission due

22 Jan 2017  Extended to 9 Feb 2016

Notification of acceptance

19 Mar 2017

Camera-ready paper submission

9 Apr 2017

Conference period

Jun 3-6 2017